books

Review of Raven Boys & Seven Black Diamonds

GUUYYYYSSS!!! Guess who’s back? It’s my laptop, Donia! laptopI picked her up from the Geek Squad today. She’s all better (hopefully) and performing much better than when she left. Yes, my laptop is also named after a fictional character. Judge me – I dare you. I can now start my epic journey of editing the terrible photos that I’ve taken with Manon (the name of my camera; hold tight, kids, its going to be a weird ride).

ravenbys.jpg

So, in other news. I finished The Raven Boys and I can sum it up in two words: holy shit. In my last post, I mentioned that the reason I loved Maggie Stiefvater is because she expends so much of her energy trying to make her readers fall in love with the characters… and boy, do you ever. At first I kept thinking “there is nothing special about these characters and I’m developing a severe dislike for them” and then halfway through the book, when the first thing happened and one of those precious cinnamon rolls was in harm’s way, I almost died. At that point, I realized that I had not gained one book boyfriend, but four. Also, I deeply sympathize and identify with Blue on a spiritual level. It ended, and I had already  bought the second book like four chapters ago. So, long story short, I’m absolutely ecstatic and somehow wallowing in dread as I face reading the next three books. I don’t know if my heart can handle it if anything happens to any of the characters. I might not recover.

I also finished Seven Black Diamonds and was surprised at how much I liked the ending. She has a second book coming out soon and I’m concerned because the first one ended on such a happy note… but then again, it was very alternate-universe Wicked Lovely, so maybe it will be all politics and none of my fae friends will be hurt. I liked the characters, but no where near as much as I liked my WL pals. I would shed blood over Wicked Lovely, no joke. I recommend it if you like fae books and crave Melissa’s work like I do. I’m not sure if I’ll get the second book – my TBR pile is out of control and I’m trying desperately to catch up. I don’t need the added temptation.

bearnightingae.jpg

I’ve been in a very thriller/creepy appreciating mood lately so if you have something that will fuck with my head, please tell me immediately. I will love you forever and will be your own personal tiny ball of rage and emotions.

Have a great week, everyone.

Carry on,

The Book Witch

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

