Uncategorized

The Book Witch’s Book Challenge

Hello, friends!

I thought it would be a rad idea to share my 2017 Book Challenge with you. I’m trying to read 60 books this year, which is a low number for me, but with all my other shit going on, it’s been hard to find the time to read. As a way to reach my goal with less anxiety, I wrote my own Book Challenge so that I can check off certain prompts and premises as I go along.

Feel free to add or remove your own in accordance to your interests, I tried to keep things relatively broad; let me know if you check anything off your reading list using this challenge!

  • A nonfiction book
  • A book published in the last year (pretty sure I’ll be checking this off with The Bone Witch or A Court of Wings and Ruin)
  • A book by someone who isn’t an author (I’m like 1/2 way through Anna Kendrick’s autobiography and it’s super funny)
  • A recommendation (I will be getting to Garth Nix’s Abhorsen trilogy…I’m so sorry it took me a year, Megan.
  • An award winning book (I’m looking at you Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe) 
  • A book with a one-word title
  • A book with a number in the title (I’M DOING THIS ONE RIGHT NOW)
  • A book on your TBR (if this prompt seems like it crawled up from a hole of chaos and despair, that’s because it did. Surprise!)
  • a book about / based around mythology (Wanted: Hades & Persephone smut)
  • a book about food
  • a book you bought on a trip (Fun fact: I bought Red Queen on a trip to Carmel and I’m starting a read-along with a Facebook group on February 1st! If anyone needs more incentive to read, let me know and I’d be happy to start a book-club)
  • a book with a pseudonym
  • a book about the ocean
  • a book of poetry
  • a book about best friends
  • a thriller

 

It’s more for when I hit a book slump and need a boost. Checking things off of lists is one way I can always ensure my motivation. I figure when I check all of these off, I can rewrite another list… and another… and another… If you have any suggestions or you plan on using this as a guideline, let me know! I always have recommendations for those of us who need more of an excuse to buy books.

Speaking of buying books… I did a thing. Hint: I bought books.

I jumped on that Coleen Hoover bandwagon and everyone has been telling me to read Truthwitch because it’s similar to ToG; I finished the third book in that series yesterday and my life is in shambles. I got Shade Me because its about synethsia, which I have, and its a thriller. Playlist for the Dead sounds sad as fuck and has a musical premise, which is one of my favorite things ever. 

I heard back about my laptop today, there’s no estimate for when it will be back BUT I don’t have to pay for the replacement parts because of warranties, yay!

Soon, I’ll be able to upload pictures from my big girl camera.

I hope everyone has a great weekend.

Carry on,

The Book Witch

Standard

2 thoughts on “The Book Witch’s Book Challenge

  1. Shelby Hedman says:

    Hey, I just started reading your blog! Your 2017 prayer was so beautiful! I wanted to know if you’ve read In a Dark, Dark Wood (murder mystery/thriller)? Also I really love Before I Die, Tessa has the most beautiful soul. You should read them!!

Leave a Reply

