books

This Savage Song Review

Sorry that this is a day late; I had to take  my laptop to Geek Squad since it won’t turn on 😦 Send good vibes that it’s an easy fix, please.

I’ve always had a formidable approach to life; I am wholeheartedly dedicated to the search of learning and gaining new skills. I’m so excited that I get to start taking more creativity-oriented classes. The thought of dipping my toes into the waters of photography and embossing and cosmetology fulfills me more than three years of college ever has. I found tutorials on YouTube for embroidery and calligraphy and I’m adding them into my daily routines so that I am a constant storm of creating and bettering myself. I don’t know if it’s my Gemini soul or my Slytherin ambition but it feels so good to pursue knowing and feel the curiosity tug me in endless directions. I work a desk job and manage a coffee shop and I never stop, never cease, fighting to rise above the dullness of falling into a career that I hate. It’s not a lack of interests or an unsureness of myself but a hatred of a life that lacks magic. As soon as I have a reliable computer and a better grasp of how to use my camera, I’ll download some  of my pictures and share them here. Until then, enjoy my terrible iphone pictures!

Summary: 

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

Overall: 6/10 

Plot: The plot of this story is very creative and I think that’s my favorite part of the story; I loved the descriptions of the different kinds of demons and how the Sunai use music as a way to reap souls. It’s post-apocalyptic but it feels like it takes place in the present, which is a nice change of pace from how I feel these stories are normally written. I usually end up feeling kind of distant from the characters. It was a darker take on the end of modern civilization rather than a futuristic one. I loved the darker elements of the story and how the author uses political corruption as a big influence – but instead of the “the world fell because of the government” it was a “the world fell and then the bad guys rose to power in the ruin “. There was a lot of dark vs. light and I liked how Kate’s dad was an example of the age-old philosophy that humans are the most evil creatures to roam the earth.

Characters: I’m sad to say that the characters fell flat. They were very cliche and very underdone. They lacked a lot of depth that I usually see in YA and I was bummed. Kate’s a stereotypical “bad girl” and August is the sweet, sensitive boy born into a cruel world. There wasn’t a lot of romance, which confused me because that’s where the story seemed like it was heading. I liked their unlikely friendship but I felt like it was rushed.

Conclusion: So the reason that I gave it a 6/10 is because the ending fucked me up. I’m guessing there has to be a second book because I finished with so many more questions than answers.  There were like eight plot twists within  like twenty pages and it was magical.

Speaking of magic, it’s so wonderful to be in love with reading and with fictional characters. A reader experiences an infinite amount of bewitchment in such a short amount of time. Our lives are soaked in love and emotions that we never imagined feeling. I wake up some mornings and I am astounded as to how much affection I have for a boy with glasses and a lightning scar. I stop, in the middle of a mundane task, and feel completely devastated by the love I have for Harry and his friends.

Wish my poor laptop luck on it’s trip to Kentucky!

Carry on,

The Book Witch

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

