books

An Announcement & a Book Review

Hello, friends. Again, terribly sorry that I haven’t been posting. The thirteen hour days are completely exhausting me and I’m trying to put sleep over hobbies. You know when you’re so tired that literally nothing sounds fun or pleasant? That was my last week. So unfortunately, I won’t be completing 30 Days of Book reviews. Instead, I’ll post one review and one personal post a week (on Tuesday / Thursday). I would love to keep doing this project but to be completely honest, it was starting to take the fun out of posting. I work much kinder schedules on Tuesdays and Thursdays so that will be easier and much more cathartic for me than “Oh shit, when was the last time I posted a book review”. Another reason that I’ve decided to keep the posts more spread our is because I have more time to compile a really thorough review instead of “What can I say about this book that will get me to bed faster” and also, I don’t think I have 30 books in my life that I’m so emotionally invested in that I want to give them all reviews. I don’t like giving half-hearted reviews and I don’t like giving bad reviews. I’d rather encourage you guys to read something than to turn you away from something you might have enjoyed.

I started watching Netflix’s A Series of Unfortunate Events today and I can say that I’m really impressed with it. I think Neil Patrick Harris could murder a man, sell his bones on E-Bay, go to prison, and I’d still be excited that he exists. They stuck extremely close to the story and I find myself becoming more fond of Patrick Warburton’ s Lemmon Snicket than I thought I would. They’re keeping all the nitty gritty details from the book series intact and I love that. This was one of my all-time favorite series as a kid. I also started going to the gym again. I would like to do enough squats so that I have the brute strength to crush someone’s skull between my thighs. Wish me luck!

Okay, since I’m skipping some books… here’s a review of something that I really enjoyed.

bookwitch-star-touched

star.jpg

 

 

Summary: 

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.

Overall:  9/10

Plot:

I loved this book. It’s another rendition of the Hades / Persephone myth mixed with Indian mythology and mythology is one of those things that I devour in a single siting. I didn’t expect to love this book as much but I remember staying up super late to finish it because it had totally ensnared me. It is a romance story, yes, but there’s enough political intrigue to keep it on the border of something else. The author’s prose was absolutely magnificent. I honestly think one of the main aspects of The Star-Touched Queen that hooked me was the way the author used language so descriptively and poetically. The world that it’s set in is super interesting and well written. Arranged marriages are always something that I dig because it’s one of those topics where everyone has an opinion; when you see it in a well-written book it always makes me ponder about my naturally ethnocentric views and how I should always check myself before I wreck myself when forming a view of another culture. Of course, not all arranged marriages are beautiful like Maya’s. I really enjoyed the added bits about her horoscope. I’m not about to give anything away (it’s right there in the description, don’t shoot the messenger) but the way that the kingdom treats Maya, based solely on her horoscope, a horoscope about a marriage nonetheless, is shitty. She’s basically  a social pariah and I liked that touch of realism in the story (sorry, Maya). We judge people so harshly and ostracize them for the stupidest reasons and this book was a great reminder that even a princess like her can be torn down by fear and ignorance.

Characters:

Maya was the ultimate female lead for me – wary of her husband, calculating, sassy, strong. She was like yeah, you’re great and all but like, what’s the fucking catch, bro? She’s a complete catch. I love how when she feels confident in her relationship she’s a fucking badass queen who just wants to protect her husband and fight alongside him and then when she’s feeling anxious she’s all I will burn everything you love and admire. Freaking heroine of the century, she is.

Amar is totally sexy. You know how you read about a book character and you’re like 10/10 would tap that? That’s his whole character. I didn’t claim him as a book boyfriend because Maya scares the crap out of me (but Chandler, you say ‘Aren’t you afraid of Manon, Feyre, Aislinn, Donia, and Aelin? Nope, they’re my spirit animals. They don’t scare me because they are me) . If I lived in that universe I would nope the fuck out of there before she ended me for looking at her man.

Everyone else, of course, is written with literary prowess. The king’s right hand man is awesome and so is the horse-thing.

Ending:

Not a cliffhanger, doesn’t answer all your questions, leaves you wanting more. I’m patiently awaiting A Crown of Wishes, which is a stand alone but looks like it will have similar characters.

Carry on, see you on Tuesday!

The Book Witch

Standard

Leave a Reply

