books

Day 10: Anna Dressed in Blood (30 Days of Book Reviews)

Hello daaaaarlings! I have been fairly busy, practicing handwriting for my bullet journal and getting my nails did.

nails

Here are my Donia / Winter Court inspired nails. I am so excited! The length is all natural nail, be proud of me – that shit takes patience.

Today, I discovered RedBubble – which has all the wonderful nerdy things and my laptop is about to look like a terrible assimilation of my fandoms. I know there are purists out there who think that stickers don’t belong on laptops, but I am not one of them and stickers belong on everything.

Let’s talk about some super spooky shit, shall we? bookwitch-annaanna

Yes, it is exactly as it sounds.

Summary: 

Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead.

So did his father before him, until he was gruesomely murdered by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father’s mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. They follow legends and local lore, destroy the murderous dead, and keep pesky things like the future and friends at bay.

Searching for a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas expects the usual: track, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he’s never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, now stained red and dripping with blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.

Yet she spares Cas’s life.

Overall: 9/10

Plot: It’s amazing. It’s scary as fuck, it’s beautifully written. Kendare Blake kills it with her writing style. Every book that I’ve read by her is devious and enticing. I had nightmares after reading this book and I’m pretty picky with my YA horror books because I don’t usually like how they end up as “Oh girl lives in scary haunted house. But girl meet cute, popular boy?! Girl not scared anymore, boy fix house and girl with his penis. Much scary, many ghost, such cute, wow.” Stephen King meets Nicolas Sparks? No thanks, how about the girl kicks the ghost’s butt and then gives the boy a firm talking to on how he needs to mind his own business and stop rubbing his genitals on her house.

However, the romance in ADIB is on point. Mostly because the characters remain true to themselves (Cas slips a bit, but we can’t all be perfect) and the romance doesn’t become the center of the universe. It’s creepy and sweet at the same time. I’m weird, ask anyone. I strongly recommend reading this if you like to be spooked and also like to be wooed a little. Cas is adorable, let’s be honest. PLUS HOW CAN YOU AVOID A CREEPY ASS BOOK ABOUT AN URBAN LEGEND CAUSE I KNOW THAT I CAN’T?!

Characters: Okay, so Cas is basically a young Winchester and I love him – he’s like Sammy if Dean wasn’t around (I know, I know. Dean dies a lot, I know. I don’t wanna talk about it. Stop killing my babies and then bringing it up) His mom is a spiritual thug, and his friends are bad ass. And then there’s Anna, who’s dead as a door nail and is still like “Hey sorry, but the book is named after me, so like, you should back off.” She also has a feminine side, which is rad, because in the midst of dealing with the absolute nightmare of her house, she’s like “Oh shit, he’s cute. I’m dead but I ain’t dead, ifyouknowwhatimean” and then proceeds to be a strong female character. The characters have realist emotions and hopes and dreams and I want to give them all a hug. Maybe not all, but like, most of them.

Ending: Awe, guys. It hurts a bit. Not gonna lie. However, there is a second book so it’s cool. It’s not as bad as Forbidden or The Merciless but its not like Throne of Glass or Forest of Hands and Teeth either. It’s right there in the middle. Just go read the book if you want a good scare and to feel some feels over a dead girl and a junior Winchester.

Carry on,

The Book Witch

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

