books

Day 9: Forbidden (30 Days of Book Reviews)

15942500_122853368218723_1819974210_n

I got fandom tea and Harry Potter bookmarks in the mail today and I screamed from joy .Some stories really do stay with us forever, prompting us to get all the ridiculous (or should I say ridikkulus? Sorry, sorry. I had to) merch we can get our hands on.  I also discovered the magical land of “Book Outlet”; thanks guys, so much, for not warning me about that website. I’ve seen so many pictures of people getting massive amounts of books from Book Outlet and being like “That’s a ton of money!” HAHA NO. WHY DID THEY ALLOW THAT WEBSITE TO BE CREATED.

Do you have a moment to talk about our lord and savior,  Sarah J Maas? I have a manicure appointment tomorrow (the salon I work at has the best nail artists) and I wanted to do something inspired by ToG and ACOTAR. I was thinking cyans, glitter, black, and plum – with moon and star accents on them. My nail girl is basically a magician – so I have faith that she will do it justice.

Today we’re covering a book that has some pretty extreme topics, so if you have PTSD or an aversion to sensitive issues, please come back tomorrow. I suffer from anxiety and OCD and I would be really sad if I came across a blog and one of their posts caused a panic attack. Please go listen to some happy music, put a kettle on, and take a warm bath. You are loved and appreciated. Your stress and feelings are valid, don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

bookwitch-forbidden

Summary: 

She is pretty and talented – sweet sixteen and never been kissed. He is seventeen; gorgeous and on the brink of a bright future. And now they have fallen in love. But… they are brother and sister.

Seventeen-year-old Lochan and sixteen-year-old Maya have always felt more like friends than siblings. Together they have stepped in for their alcoholic, wayward mother to take care of their three younger siblings. As defacto parents to the little ones, Lochan and Maya have had to grow up fast. And the stress of their lives—and the way they understand each other so completely—has also brought them closer than two siblings would ordinarily be. So close, in fact, that they have fallen in love. Their clandestine romance quickly blooms into deep, desperate love. They know their relationship is wrong and cannot possibly continue. And yet, they cannot stop what feels so incredibly right. As the novel careens toward an explosive and shocking finale, only one thing is certain: a love this devastating has no happy ending.

Overall: I want to give it a -26/10 for how badly it broke me, but I guess we’ll just say 9/10

Plot: When I read the plot of this book, I was like “Oh no, I can’t possibly read that and feel any emotion but pure discomfort.” I was so wrong. So devastatingly wrong. This book took a sledgehammer to my heart and soul. It was like watching two trains collide and cry over the wreckage and destruction, even though you voluntarily saw the accident. It made me cry so many tears. Not even over what the poor kids are dealing with, grappling with their feelings for each other, but living with a completely abusive and terrible birth mother. No one should be able to write villains that good. She’s such an over-looked, every day horror. The real demons in our world are the ones who trick people into believing that they’re functioning members of society, while making the lives of children an absolute nightmare. It adds so much psychological intent to the story. Would Maya and Lochan have fallen in love if they didn’t have the mother as a factor? Who the fuck knows? It’s not me, I’m still processing how I felt after reading this book – over two years ago. Suzuma weaves a love story so beyond our normal scope of understanding that its hard not to root for Maya and Lochan. They go through absolute hell and back together and in a normal situation, that usually creates some sort of a special bond. I loved her writing style and how subtle the love between the two siblings was. You didn’t see any grand moments of profession – but rather, small moments of complete and total adoration. Of course, the two siblings can’t go around kissing or telling people about their relationship, which is another huge component of the book. It’s scandalous and heart-wrenching.

Characters: Lochan is amazing. He’s amazing as a father, brother, lover, and friend. He had moments where I was like “bruh” but he’s 16, falling for his sister, and the product of an alcoholic parent. Maya was awesome, too, but I felt more strongly for Lochan since he really carried the world on his shoulders and would’ve sacrificed anything for his family. They’re two completely lovable teenagers who have only felt true love with one another and that makes the book so damn hard. The mom, of course, is horrible. She should have been George R. Martin-ed off in the first two chapters. (I am not a fan of Game of Thrones because I know that man is a homicidal monster and I won’t be a part of his devious games)

Conclusion: IT WILL BREAK YOUR HEART INTO TINY PIECES. IMAGINE THE WORST CASE SCENARIO THAT COULD HAPPEN TO THESE KIDS AND TIMES IT BY A HUNDRED. THAT’S WHAT HAPPENS AND I DON’T EVEN THINK THAT COVERS HOW BADLY IT HURT ME. 

Seriously, if you’re in a good place in your life and feel confident that you won’t have to miss work for a week after reading this book, you should read it. If you’re at a bad place and you need a good cry but can’t muster up the self-hatred, my friend, this is the book for you.

Carry on,

The Book Witch

By the way,  four more days until Netflix’s original A Series of Unfortunate Events comes out – starring the eighth love of my life, Neil Patrick Harris.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

