books

Day 4: The Merciless (30 Days of Book Reviews)

So, I rejoined the world of Facebook. For the last 9 or so months, I’ve had at least three conversations a week with someone in my friend circle telling me they miss seeing my posts. I signed up, reminded everyone that I’m an asshole, and they rejoiced. It was a weird day. I did miss it, though. I was able to join some Sarah J Maas groups, a couple bullet-journal groups, and a bookish group that was formed around OwlCrate. It’s nice being back among my people… and the peasants.

I also started using WhisperSync for my Kindle. It’s amazing. It’s this neat thing where you can purchase the audio version of select version for like $2 when you buy the text. I love being able to switch back and forth. I started listening to the third installment of Throne of Glass, today. It’s beautiful, I’m in love. The narrator’s voice is literally better than anything on the radio or my indecisive ass trying to pick something on Spotify.

Are you ready for Day 4 of 30 Days of Book Reviews?! I am! I’m also ready to go the fuck to bed and work on time management skills! So much fanfiction, so little time.

bookwitch-merciless

Summary: 

Forgive us, Father, for we have sinned

Brooklyn Stevens sits in a pool of her own blood, tied up and gagged. No one outside of these dank basement walls knows she’s here. No one can hear her scream.

Sofia Flores knows she shouldn’t have gotten involved. When she befriended Riley, Grace, and Alexis on her first day at school, she admired them, with their perfect hair and their good-girl ways. They said they wanted to save Brooklyn. They wanted to help her. Sofia didn’t realize they believed Brooklyn was possessed.

Now, Riley and the girls are performing an exorcism on Brooklyn—but their idea of an exorcism is closer to torture than salvation. All Sofia wants is to get out of this house. But there is no way out. Sofia can’t go against the other girls . . . unless she wants to be next. . . .

In this chilling debut, Danielle Vega delivers blood-curdling suspense and terror on every page. By the shockingly twisted end, readers will be faced with the most haunting question of all: Is there evil in all of us?

Overall: 8/10

 

Plot: Ah, yes. The first review of a “YA horror” novel on my blog. This is the shit that I live for. I am a sucker for anything with ghosts, demons, or devils. I remember the day that I found The Merciless sitting on a shelf at my library, with its hot pink cover and golden, overturned pentagram. I was like “Oh, YES” and then read it in like four hours. It’s got some cliches, like the “different” girl who starts a new high school and the popular girls are like “Fresh meat! Makeover!”. Except in Vega’s story, it’s basically a cult. There’s also stereotypical high school crush, and I hate trope romance, so that was a turn off for me. However, a novel where Mean Girls meets The Exorcist? Sign me the fuck up. I did enjoy the premise of the books, because I’m into anything creepy, paranormal, or otherwise disturbing. If you don’t like violence or religious cults, maybe don’t read this book. It’s not bad in terms of graphic scenes but it might make you question if it’s YA every  now and then. I went to Catholic school for twelve years so reading books about religious people going crazy is why I continue to revisit the world of organized religion. I bet you’re all “Awe, you went to Catholic school? That’s really cute!” HAHA no, you don’t understand. Its the reason that I have no soul. Nothing cute about hating everything and everyone near you. I went to an old ass cathedral with my sister a couple months back and blessed myself with Holy Water, out of habit. My sister’s face of abject horror conveyed a lot of emotions, mostly “who are you” and “why aren’t you on fire yet”. Moral of the story, I exist to read books that highlight the darker side of a religious experience. Don’t get me wrong, I pass no judgement on any religion or anyone who practices a religion, because I am a mortal , too. Honestly, what do I know? Not my place, not my argument. Anyway, I really like that the author was all “High school? More like die school, amiright?” High school is an actual hell, so it worked. Cute little future lawyers and doctors running around, torturing each other. Vega’s writing style is also worth a peek. She’s not one of those authors who writes horror books and uses the same exact four words every six paragraphs. It was a good read and if you’re anything like me – a person who enjoy psychology or morbid topics – check it out ASAP.

Characters- I don’t want to go into too much detail, at the risk of telling you guys too much… but I will say that Vega is awesome at getting you to really like a character, and then making you hate them. Then you think you like them again! Oh, no, that’s burning rage. I really enjoyed her characters because she exposes a universal truth about humanity: that humans are the most dangerous creature. Her story also dips into the age-old idea that we fear what is different and try to get rid of it by any means necessary. Whatever makes people more accepting of others did not get passed down into any of these “Mean Girls'” genetics.

Conclusion: MAJOR CLIFFHANGER. Thankfully, the second book is now in print so you don’t have to wait for-like-ever to find out what happens. I like cliffhangers, but man, not like that. It was brutal. I still don’t know what happened. Do I want to? If you like cliffhangers and things that go bump in the night, check The Merciless out.

Carry on,

Best wishes from your friend –

The Book Witch

Standard

Leave a Reply

