books

Day 2: A Court of Thorns and Roses / ACOMF (30 Days of Book Reviews)

Do you guys wanna hear my ideas for my candle scents? Of course, you do!

Draco Malfoy – Lemon, pine, & sandalwood

Carry On – Cherry scones & roses

Donia / Wicked Lovely – Lavender, mint, &  blackberry sage

I finally got around to writing my thank-you notes so now that I have that out of the way, I can order some scents and start cracking. It’s nice and snowy today so I scheduled a pedicure and have done like three adult things. I’m really nervous to make the next step in wedding planning and I’d much rather be throwing myself into creative hobbies and books.

Speaking of books, let’s get into one of my favorite series: A Court of Thorns and Roses / A Court of Mist and Fury. 

bookwitch-acotracomf

Summary: 

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

 

Overall Rating: 11.5/10

Okay, so I’m reluctant to review this series because I’d really just like to talk about ACOMF, the second book. However, because I don’t believe in spoilers – I’ll just talk about the first one and then highly encourage you to read it so you can get on with your life and read the second. 

Plot: Guys, there’s hot fairies and a strong female character. I picked it up because its a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I love a good retelling. Also, let me just say that the second book is a retelling of the Hades & Persephone myth WHICH IS 115% MY SHIT. UGH its so perfect. It makes me sick to my stomach with how perfect it is. It is exactly like Beauty and the Beast except the Beast is a fey and there’s politics and intrigue and sex. It’s an emotional roller coaster from start to finish because Maas is not one of those authors who guarantees a happy ending. I found myself loving this series because it reminded me so strongly of Wicked Lovely. If you like fey books that are based on Court systems, this is the series for you. If you love retellings where the main characters are intricate and badass as fuck, this series is for you.

Characters: LET ME TELL YOU ABOUT MY SWEET BABY, FEYRE. She’s such a strong character. She has been supporting her ungrateful family for years but surprise she’s actually a human being with human feelings and isn’t the happiest about being their bitch. I adore Feyre. She’s like Hermione Granger and Aelin Fireheart had a baby. She’s Belle, if Belle could hold her own in combat and was born to be a motherfucking queen. She is not a character that I would ever fight in a dark alley. Tamlin is well written, too. He’s a jerk but you can’t help but be like “He’s a hot jerk”. I hate Tamlin, but that’s a discussion for a later day. Honestly, it takes a really great story for a character to be so secretly horrendous that you sympathize with him, hate him, sympathize, hate… And then there’s Lucien. Sweet, cinnamon roll Lucien who just wants to help. What a darling. 10/10 would recommend falling in love with Lucien. The villain, Amarantha, is even pretty rad. Like she’s terrible, and evil, and horrible… but she’s one of those villains that you’re like “Damn, what eighth circle of Hell did this bitch crawl out from?”

And then there’s Rhysand. The fifth love of my life, Rhysand. You’re going to be all “EW RHYSAND IS ICKY.. oh wait. Fuck, okay” Even if you don’t have the mouth of a sailor, you will cuss because that’s what Rhsyand does to a reader’s fragile psyche. I loooooove Rhysand. He’s one of my “dark haired devils who’s actual a beautiful soul and is quite sensitive” babies. As if I needed another fictional character to fall madly in love with. 

Conclusion: Four words: it fucked me up. It continues to fuck me up. Especially the ending of the second book. I don’t wanna talk about it, okay? Like I get why things happen but I’m allowed to stew in anger over it, too. If you want to get emotionally attached to a series, read this one.

120 DAYS UNTIL THE THIRD BOOK IS PUBLISHED. Not that I have it pre-ordered. Or there’s, like, a countdown on my phone or anything.

Carry on,

The Book Witch

Standard

2 thoughts on “Day 2: A Court of Thorns and Roses / ACOMF (30 Days of Book Reviews)

Leave a Reply

